Keys as a chew toy? I think I might faint!

I’m a complete germaphobe, it’s true, but I think I’m a toxinphobe even more.  That’s why when I recently saw a friend’s daughter playing with keys I nearly passed out.  Thanks to my constant googling, I know that some keys contain lead.  Yes, lead!  That means that you don’t need to offer your kid paint chips in his snack trap for him to be exposed to dangerous levels of the toxin.  Not to mention, keys are sharp.  Besides scratching your furniture, car, or appliances, they can be dangerous.  Think I’m too cautious? Tell that to the Holderman family whose son fell on a key and had it lodged in his eye!

The adults chatted as my friend’s toddler played with her mom’s keys, chewing on them and pretending to lock and unlock the door.  I couldn’t listen to the conversation because I was replaying an episode of Oprah in my head where she discussed all the junk on common items like keys (and movie theater seats, but that is another post).  I offered the little girl a set of plastic keys that I happened to have and she dropped them almost immediately preferring the shiny ones her mom had that made that tinkling noise when they tapped together. When they left, I searched for something better via Google, of course.

It didn’t take me long to find the perfect thing, Kleynimals.  Kleynimals are stainless steel “keys” in the shape of Eli the Elephant, Gus the Giraffe, and Leo the Lion.  Kleynimals contain no lead, phthalates, BPA or cadmium, so they are safe – whew!  They make that great tinkling sound and are great for rattling and pretend play. Oh, and they are a great baby gift because the company will engrave them for you! I love that!  Google it yourself!

About Peace, Love, and Toys

As a mom of 2, I know that the recipe for a happy child is simply peace, love, and (who are we kidding) toys. I'll try to share my tips on how to get all 3.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

