Lucco Takes Kids (and Adults) To Far Off Places

I love to travel.  I should say I loved to travel. Since LG was born 4 1/2 years ago we haven’t gone far or often. Even though I’m a little out of practice, I’ve got the itch. So this summer, we’re doing it. We’re packing up our suitcases and the kids and heading out of town.  Yay us!

My husband and I wonder whether trekking off with the little ones is worth it. He keeps asking if they’ll remember. I think the experience will be good for them, even if they forget the details.

To make the most of it, I want to prep the boys a little for what they’ll see and do. I thought we’d look at some pictures, maybe watch a YouTube video or two, and read a book if I can find a good one (let me know if you know of one).

We’re going to Boston this year. Maybe next year we’ll get a little more adventurous and hop across the pond. If we do, I just found the perfect books for the occasion. The Bella and Harry series written by Lisa Manzione and illustrated by Kristine Lucco are just the thing! Bella and Harry are adorable Chihuahua siblings who travel through Europe with their owners. The stories follow the dogs on one jam-packed vacation day and are filled with the sights, smells, sounds, and tastes of the cities in which they are set. So far, there are only three books series with visits to Venice, Paris, and London.

My favorite thing about the books was the beautiful illustrations. In Let’s Visit Paris the Eiffel Tower soars above the tiny puppies and the two walk right through a Monet!  Lucco even had the great challenge of illustrating the Mona Lisa (or the “Melissa” as Super shouted when we looked at the “snapshots” at the end of the book).

I was lucky enough to catch up with Kristine Lucco as she painted a new restaurant in a town near mine, SEA in Lauderdale-By-the-Sea.  It was fascinating.  My friend and I sat quietly watching her paint.  We had things to do and places to go, but we sat, staring at her as she effortlessly and in the blink of an eye painted a series of orange jellyfish floating up the wall and across the ceiling. She quickly transformed what was once an Italian cafe into an undersea experience.

As we offered suggestions for her next creation, she joked, “What am I a marine anatomy expert?”  She scoffed and then painted exactly what we requested, an octopus “with lots of suckers.”  She may not be a marine anatomy expert (though you’d never know), but it appears she is an expert at telling a visual story.

See Kristine’s beautiful work in the Bella and Harry series and, if you are near SEA go see her work up close.  Oh, and if you know of a good children’s book about Boston, let me know.  I should’ve asked Kristine to whip one up for me with her magic paintbrush.

About Peace, Love, and Toys

As a mom of 2, I know that the recipe for a happy child is simply peace, love, and (who are we kidding) toys. I'll try to share my tips on how to get all 3.
This entry was posted in Local, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

