Who Is Jake Roth And Why Is He Ruining My Fantasies?

LG: “Mom, Jake Roth said Winnie the Pooh 3 is coming out.  Jake Roth said that you can eat in the castle at Disney World.  Oh, Jake Roth said that camels have water in their humps.”

Me: “Well, Winnie the Pooh is coming out, but I don’t think it is number 3 and camels have humps, but I don’t think they are filled with water.  We can look it up when we get home.  And yes, you can eat in the castle at Disney World.  Would you like to do that?  There are lots of princesses, but I think Prince Charming is there.  Would you like to meet a real prince?”

LG: “Jake Roth says everyone at Disney is just a regular person in a costume.”

Me: (dropping everything) “WHAT?!?!?!?!?!”

Who is Jake Roth and why is he ruining my fantasies?  Does this Jake person know about Santa Claus?  If Jake Roth tells LG about Santa and LG tells Super about Santa, then Mr. Jake Roth is gonna have some explaining to do.

Seriously, my baby is growing up.  It isn’t going to be long before the magic and wonder vanish and the too cool boy emerges.  I realize I have spent a lot of time over the last 4 ½ years wishing LG would “act like a big boy.”  After all, big boys sleep in their own beds, big boys don’t cry at the park when they get a scratch, big boys eat their vegetables, and big boys go peeps and poops in the potty.  But really big boys don’t need their moms so much either.

LG has a new way to tease me.  I’ve been telling him he is so big he can do everything for himself, so he says “I still need you to drive me places.”  HA! And he will say “I still need you to cook my food.”  Laughing of course because if he wasn’t he’d get a good talking to.  We laugh about this little tease because I know that he knows we both need each other for a lot more than everyday chores.

I told LG the other day that he was getting so heavy that soon I wouldn’t be able to pick him up.  He giggled and hugged me.  Then he said “Mom, even when I’m big I’ll still be your baby, right?” I looked at him with tears in my eyes.  He had them too.  Maybe I’ve read I’ll Love You Forever one too many times, but that was the most precious thing I think I’ve ever heard.  I guess knowing there are Jake Roths in the world made those tears bittersweet.  Does anyone have Jake’s parents’ phone number because I’m pretty sure he needs a time out to think about what he’s done.

About Peace, Love, and Toys

As a mom of 2, I know that the recipe for a happy child is simply peace, love, and (who are we kidding) toys. I'll try to share my tips on how to get all 3.
This entry was posted in Growing Up and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

