Time For Some Help With Time

If I have to say “just because the sun is shining doesn’t mean it isn’t bedtime” one more time I’m gonna scream.

I love long summer days, don’t get me wrong.  But Super thinks that he doesn’t have to go to bed until it is pitch black outside.  “It’s not nighttime,” he proclaims over and over while we try to convince him to go to bed.  I’m sure in January I’ll be begging for sun, but right now a little darkness at bedtime sounds like heaven…a dark, quiet heaven where kids go to sleep at a normal hour and mommies get to watch the Bachelorette without being interrupted.

Oh, and Super likes to jump out of bed at the first sign of light.  I’ve tried to talk him into staying in bed and being quiet until a more appropriate hour, but he doesn’t get it.  He’s ready to play.  We aren’t getting a whole lot of sleep around here.  It is time for some help with time.

Happily, I just found TimeBuddy.  TimeBuddy is a surprisingly adorable 24-hour clock that you customize based on your child’s routine.  You design your own TimeBuddy with repositionable stickers to show your child that it is time to play, eat, take a bath, etc.  It even lets you record your voice so it can “talk” to your kids.

Our TimeBuddy

Before we got TimeBuddy, I tried talking to Super about the numbers on a digital clock, but he just didn’t get the concept.  And forget a traditional clock.  I can see why he’d be confused, the idea of time can be a fairly difficult thing to grasp.

TimeBuddy teaches kids to recognize that the hands on a clock show us what we should be doing.  It gives kids a sense of pride in knowing what to do all by themselves. It helps children to learn time management, too.  Now that is a valuable tool!

Honestly, Super loves his TimeBuddy.  He is very proud of himself when he tells me what “time” it is.  He checks his TimeBuddy constantly and has become the household cuckoo announcing the activity of the moment.   TimeBuddy also helps me get my boys ready for their activities and school.  Most importantly for me, now Super can see that it is bedtime even though the sun is up.

my favorite time

I don’t mean to stress you out, but school is starting soon.  Like real soon.  This means that if you took a break from routine this summer, you’ll soon be dealing with the fallout from that.  TimeBuddy could certainly help your kids get back in the swing of things.

Oh, and this cute little thing can be your new scapegoat.  I mean it isn’t your fault TV time is over, TimeBuddy said so.  Nice one.

TimeBuddy is a little hard to find right now, but if you can track one down you’ll be happy you did.  I’ve gotta run, TimeBuddy is telling me that school is almost over.

About Peace, Love, and Toys

As a mom of 2, I know that the recipe for a happy child is simply peace, love, and (who are we kidding) toys. I'll try to share my tips on how to get all 3.
This entry was posted in Education, Toys and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

