Sweatpants Mafia

I’m a member of the Sweatpants Mafia.

For the purposes of this blog and its title: Sweatpants: juicy velour, denim (jeggings or jeans), or yoga pants. Mafia: my group of friends/acquaintances/kiddie classmates, who have a mostly common set of values; who are unbelievably dedicated to their causes and families; and whose strength and faith can move mountains.

I started a blog many months ago. I tried to be positive and uplifting.  I tried to talk only about things I like.  Soon after, I started my own business and life got busy.  I just didn’t have the time or interest to play Pollyanna.  It wasn’t that I didn’t have anything to say.  Just the opposite. I had so many things to say that there wasn’t time in the day.

Look, I aspire to peace, love, and toys.  That is why I titled my blog the way I did.  Most moms do aspire to those things.  I want it so bad, I’ll go to great lengths to get it. The thing is, that’s not all I’m about.  It is something I distract myself with.  So, while I like peace and love and toys, and I want all those things – I want more for me, for my kids, for my family, and friends, and people I’ve never met.  That’s me.

I remember sitting on the floor in my favorite mommy-n-me class trading ideas and frustrations with the other moms. That day like so many others we listened to one another and helped offer solutions or support. We got angry for one another.  We sincerely tried to help alleviate one another’s burdens.  I clearly remember saying to the instructor of the class, “we are like the Sweatpants Mafia.”  We were a very tight knit group of people who stuck together through the mommy adversities of picky eaters, nap refusers, slow walkers, food allergies, speech therapy, behavior issues, and in-law nightmares. We demanded the best schools, toys, activities, food, books and cars for our kids.  We donated our time and money to worthy charities, we took our kids to countless activities and birthday parties, we talked to one another about problems and solutions, we could function on very little sleep.  But, that’s not all we did.  We worried about things like our national food supply, poverty, education, bullying, the arts, and a list of other things that weren’t so personal or trivial.  We are NOT the people you want to make angry. We WILL tattle. We know we tell our kids not to, but it may be our favorite pass time (we’re bad like that).

So peace, love, and toys? Yes please. But, stand in my way of those things and I’ve got a capo who’d like to speak with you.  This blog just took a very sharp turn toward Honesttown.  I’ll keep telling you about the things I love, but I will no longer hold back about the things I don’t.  I’m going to be all over the place, but then maybe you will really get to know me because that’s how I am in real life.  Fasten your seat belt, it’s going to be a bumpy write.

About Peace, Love, and Toys

As a mom of 2, I know that the recipe for a happy child is simply peace, love, and (who are we kidding) toys. I'll try to share my tips on how to get all 3.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

